Over 50 local and area adults and children will bring Dorothy, the Scarecrow, the Tin Man, the Cowardly Lion and the magical lands and residents of Munchkinland and Oz to life during the Averitt Center’s presentation of The Wizard of Oz on consecutive weekends in July.

Directed by Averitt executive artistic associate Robert Cottle, this community-theater production features all the memorable songs and phrases from the beloved musical. The shows, which are slated for July 15-17 and July 22-24, also feature all the loveable characters from the legendary movie, which is owned by the Turner Entertainment Company and distributed in all media by Warner Brothers.

Tickets for the reserved-seat performance are $25 for adults ($20 for ACA members, active and retired military, first responders, city of Statesboro and Bulloch County employees) and $15 for students. Curtain time for the Friday night performances are 7 p.m. while the Saturday and Sunday shows are 3 p.m. matinees.

Tickets can be purchased at the Box Office of the Averitt Center Main Gallery (open 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Monday through Friday), by calling 912-212-2787 or online at www.averittcenterforthearts.org. The Wizard of Oz is sponsored by Morris Bank and the accounting firm of Dabbs, Hickman, Hill and Cannon, LLP

Cast members are:

  • Dorothy Gale: Julian Schwarz
  • Aunt Em/Glinda: Christie McLendon
  • Uncle Henry/Emerald City Guard: Kyle Stivers
  • Zeke/Cowardly Lion: Brandon Reaves
  • Hickory/Tinman: Todd Williford
  • Hunk/Scarecrow: Shanna Haselton
  • Miss Almira Gulch/The Wicked Witch of the West: Brandi Harvey
  • Professor Chester Marvel/The Wizard of Oz: John Parcels

Children’s ensemble
Citizens of Munchkinland

  • Chorus Mayor: Jackson Gaines
  • Coroner: Camden King
  • Barrister: Siena Camiscioli
  • 3 City Fathers: Noella Griswold, Charley Jane Burgess, Ella Sobaje
  • 3 Tough Guys: Charlotte Bridges, Lola Schwarz, Jenna Best
  • Fiddler: Charlotte Wiggins
  • Braggart: Lilyann Gaschel
  • 2 School Teachers: Catherine Haddad, Anna Grace Rollins
  • 3 Tots: Chloe Best, Elsa King, Amayah Moore
  • Munchkin Townsfolk: Emsley King, Harper Pate, Muriel Graham, Adyson Graham, Ellie Spence

Adult ensemble

Trees and crows will also be the singing poppies and they will also be included in the Ozian chorus

  • Crows: Mackenzie Harvey, Liz Harvey
  • Trees: Julia Curiel, Elisabeth O’Quinn

Ozians – Chorus

  • Beauticians: Sosi Sobaje, Ressie Fuller
  • Polishers: Emily Lloyd, Nicki Gibson, Anakade Clemen
  • Manicurists: Alison Darby, Cynthia Waters
  • Oz Man: Bobby Burgess
  • Oz Woman: Tara Jeffers


  • Male Chorus: Matt Spence, Jamey Saunders, Bobby Burgess, Mike McLendon
  • Winkie General: Thom Mortimore
  • Nikko – Commander of the Monkeys: Charlotte Bridges

Jitterbugs & Ghosts

  • Chorus: Molly Peyton Griswold, Abbygale Lee Knight
  • Jitterbug – Lead Dancer: Claire Stafford