UPDATE 10/27/22: Due to an overwhelming response, the waitlist is now closed.

The Statesboro Housing Authority has opened its one, two, and three bedroom waitlists for 30 days. The waitlist is open now and will run through Tuesday, November 22, 2022.

Neighborhoods include Cone Homes, Butler Homes, Braswell Homes, and Groover Homes. You can apply online at statesboroha.com.

For more information, call the Statesboro Housing Authority at 912-764-3512.

About the Housing Authority

The Housing Authority of the City of Statesboro is a public entity that was organized January 29, 1951, to provide federally subsidized housing to low-income families with funds from the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), within the City of Statesboro, Bulloch County, Georgia.

The Agency is headed by an Executive Director (ED) and is governed by a five-person Board of Commissioners appointed by the Mayor and ratified by the City Council of the City of Statesboro. The first Board of Commissioners appointed were Alfred Dorman, Chairman, Glenn S. Jennings, Vice-Chairman, S.D. Groover, O.C. Banks, and A. M. Braswell. The first Executive Director and Secretary of the Board was Geo. M. Johnson.

Though brought into existence by a Resolution of the City of Statesboro, the Housing Authority of the City of Statesboro is a separate entity from the City. Currently, the Agency owns and manages 148 units of public housing, and has 6 employees.

The current board members are Dorsey Baldwin, Chair, Crystal Simpkins, Vice Chair, Carey Cassedy, Victor Dickey, Cleve White, and Rev. Wayne Williams.

Whitney Lavoie

Whitney Turner Lavoie is a Statesboro native and freelance writer/editor. She is an active volunteer with her children’s school PTO and Girl Scouts of America. Whitney previously worked in health communications...