Rotary Club announces 11 winners of the Service Above Self Scholarship

The Rotary Club of Statesboro awarded eleven $1000 Service Above Self Scholarships this year to graduating seniors in Bulloch County.

These scholarships awarded outstanding academics as well as community service.

Five scholarships were awarded from the club and two anonymous Rotary club donors funded the other six. These recipients were recognized at Rotary’s noon meeting on June 7th.

The 2021 recipients, their high schools, and their college decisions are:

  1. Samantha Yancey – Southeast Bulloch HS (Emmanuel College)
  2. Hannah Clay – Southeast Bulloch HS (Georgia Tech)
  3. Katherine Yaughn- Homeschool (Mercer University)
  4. Anna Jones – Homeschool (Georgia Southern University)
  5. Alayna Smith – Portal High School (Southeastern Technical College)
  6. Matthew Perry Statesboro High School (Georgia Tech)
  7. Ansley Knight – Southeast Bulloch HS (University of Georgia)
  8. Brittany Lane – Statesboro High School (University of Georgia)
  9. Taylor Cline – Portal High School (Georgia Southern University) 
  10. Kathryn Lattner – Trinity Christian School (University of Georgia)
  11. Hannan Parsons – Southeast Bulloch HS (University of South Florida)