Bulloch County Schools Transportation Department held their annual awards banquet which honors bus drivers on Friday, May 13, 2022 at Langston Chapel Middle School. Transportation director Janet Tanner praised the entire department for their commitment to the students and our community during what was an extraordinarily challenging year.

They need 118 bus drivers to fully staff all of the bus routes necessary to transport 9,000 students per day. This year they had to make it work with 25 less than full capacity. 93 bus drivers made it happen. Many of them drove double and triple routes daily to make sure all of the students made it safely to school and back home.

They came together for a wonderfully catered dinner by Uncle Shugs and celebrated their year of success. In addition to the awards and recognition, each team put together gift baskets, which they gave away to the other drivers as door prizes.

Troy Brown, Assistant Superintendent of Schools and Elizabeth Byrd assisted Tanner with the presentation of the awards.

You can watch the awards presentation below:

Bulloch County Transportation Awards Banquet

The first awards given was for drivers who are retiring. Each retiring driver gets a custom made mailbox in the shape of a school bus with their name on the mailbox.


Louise Sherrod 45 years

Known to her students and friends as Wheezy, Mrs. Sherrod has driven generations of students to school. There are several drivers who actually rode her bus, who were inspired by her to become a driver as well.

Bus Drivers
Louise Sherrod pictured with fellow bus drivers who all rode her bus as students Credit: Grice Connect

Tony Jones 12 years

Mr. Jones retired for 30 days and returned back to driving. He has served in multiple capacities in the transportation department.

Bulloch County Transportation School Year 2021-2022 Years of service

20 years of dedicated service

  • Cynthia Powell
  • Edward Mikell

10 years of dedicated service

  • Brandi Adkins
  • Denise Girardeau
  • Laquanya Jones
  • Betty Tremble

Bulloch County Transportation School Year 2021-2022 Employees of the Year

  • Team LCE – Christopher Deloach
  • Team BES – Paula Watson
  • Team NES – Edward Rich
  • Team Special education – Janice Morrell
  • Team MCE – Sara Grenier
  • Team MLE – Barbara Everett
  • Team SES – Pamela Shuman
  • Team PES – Frances Robinson
  • Team SZE – Stacey Goode
  • Team JPB – Sherry Brinson
  • Transportation Department – Juanita McMillan

Cynthia Powell

Lue Wiggins Award
Cynthia Powell

Frances Robinson

Gil Riggs Safety Award
Frances Robinson

Megan Crosby

Director’s Cup
Megan Crosby

Herschel DeWayne Grice is the founder of Grice Connect an online news and information company in Statesboro, Georgia. DeWayne has been active in the media for over three decades. He brings a unique insight...